Skip To Main Content
Principia College Logo

Speaker Series

George A. Andrews Distinguished Speaker Series

The George A. Andrews Distinguished Speaker Series was inaugurated in 1997 with the generous support of a devoted friend of Principia. The series is named in honor of the first Dean of the College, who also served with great distinction during his 30-year career at Principia (1921–1953) as a professor of history.

Primarily an educational program for Principia College students, the series features speakers of high ideals and strong character whose ideas and decisions have made a significant imprint on our times.

It is the College's hope that these examples of lives well lived will inspire Principia students to careers devoted to the largest purposes and highest ideals.

2016 Ed Visteurs
World Class Mountaineer

2016 Henry M. Paulson Jr.
Former United States Secretary of the Treasury

2014 Captain James Lovell, Fred Haise, and Gene Kranz
Apollo 13 Astronauts and Mission Flight Control Director

2014 Madeleine Albright
Former United States Secretary of State

2011 George Will
Pultzer Prize-Winning Author, Syndicated Columnist

2010 Muhammad Yunus
Nobel Peace Prize Winner, Founder of the Microenterprise Lending Movement

2009 Doris Kearns Goodwin
Pulitzer Prize-Winning Historian, Lincoln Scholar

2008 Vicente Fox
Former President of Mexico

2007 Robert Duvall (US'49, C'53)
Academy Award-Winning Actor, Director, and Screenwriter

2006 Barack Obama
Former President of the United States

2006 Wangari Maathai
Nobel Peace Prize Winner, Humanitarian, Environmentalist

2005 Thomas Friedman
Pulitzer Prize-Winning Author, New York Times Columnist

2004 Coretta Scott King
Humanitarian, Civil Rights Champion, Wife of the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King 

2002 Elie Wiesel
Holocaust Survivor, Pulitzer Prize-Winning Author 

2000 Colin Powell
Former United States Secretary of State, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff 

1999 Jimmy Carter
Former President of the United States

1998 George H. W. Bush
Former President of the United States

1997 Margaret Thatcher
Former Prime Minister of Great Britain

Ernie and Lucha Vogel Moral Courage Speakers

The Vogel Moral Courage program was established to nurture, encourage, and promote the idea of moral courage through speakers, seminars, and special activities as well as a special collection located in the Marshall Brooks Library.

The speaker series has brought to the Principia College campus individuals from around the world who have been significant exemplars of—or writers on—moral courage. The purpose of the speaker series is to foster an appreciation of the importance of moral courage in every aspect of life.

2019 Arno Michaelis and Daryl Davis
A Former White Supremacist and a Blues Musician, Anti-Hate Activists

2017 Rukmini Callimachi
International Journalist covering Al Qaeda and ISIS

2017 Anthony Menendez
Halliburton whistleblower

2016 Dr. Yang Jianli
Pro-democracy Activist from Northern China

2015 Ziauddin Yousafzai
Educator and Human Rights Activist

2014 Michael Kim
Author and Human Rights Activist

2013 Azar Nafisi
Professor and Iranian-American Author

2011 Lara Logan
Foreign Affairs Correspondent for CBS News

2011 Kristen Monroe
Political Scientist and Professor

2010 Emmanuel Jal
Musician, Activist, and Former Ugandan Child Soldier

2010 Oleg Kozlovsky
Civil Rights Activist

2008 Betty Bigombe
Former Ugandan Government Minister and World Bank Consultant

2008 Xinran Xue
Author and Former Radio Host

2007 Melba Beals
Journalist, Author, and Member of the Little Rock Nine

2006 Diane Wilson
Fourth-Generation Shrimper and Environmental Activist

2006 Lydia Sohn
Professor and Whistleblower

2005 Paul Rusesabagina
Humanitarian and Inspiration for Hotel Rwanda

2004 Wole Soyinka
Author, Professor, and Political Prisoner

2003 Lord Weatherill
Humanitarian and Former Speaker of the British House of Commons

2003 Louis Clark
Protestant Minister, Attorney, Civil Rights Activist

2001 Morris Dees
Civil Rights Attorney

2001 Lowell Bergman
Investigative Reporter and Former 60 Minutes Producer

2001 Jeffrey Wigand
Tobacco Industry Whistleblower and Founder of SMOKE-FREE KIDS, Inc.

2000 David McCullough
Author and Historian

1999 John Lewis
American Politician and Civil Rights Leader

1998 Nien Cheng
Author and Prisoner during China's Cultural Revolution

Other Major Speakers

Speaker Year
General Peter Pace 2013
Matt Lauria and Michelle Armstrong 2012
Minoma Littlehawk 2012
Rose Mapendo 2011
Herman Boone 2011
Sandy Tolan 2010
Greg Mortenson 2009
Helen and Robert Elswit 2009
Mark Suh (C'75) 2008
Bud Krogh (US'57, C'61) 2008
David McCullough 2007
Asao Inoue 2007
Traci Fenton (C'97) 2007
Robert Cochran 2006
Elizabeth Pond 2006
Kevin Mitnick 2006
Rushworth Kidder 2005
Janessa Gans (C'98) 2005
Paul Dixon (US'83) 2004
Clifton Taulbert 2004
Gwen Ifill 2004
Assad Hayauddin 2004
George Mitchell 2003
Daniel Schorr 2002
Christopher Shays (C'68) 2002
Erin Brockovich 2002
Paul Simon 2002
Danny Glover/Felix Justice 2002
Sandra Day O'Connor 2001
Jane Goodall 2001
Maya Angelou 2000
James A. Baker III 2000
Val Kilmer 2000
Henry Kissinger 1999
Robert Craig 1998